‘Not Marriage Material’ – Submission 10: Always By My Side by Maximilian Sam

Not Marriage Material is an upcoming anthology of non fiction and poetry – submissions are currently open. More information can be found here.


Always By My Side by Maximilian Sam

(Based On An Idea By Sue Bavey)

I wake up in the morning and you are there. You are the last one I say goodnight to before I go to bed. Wherever I go during the day, you are by my side. I can’t remember life without you. I, now, can’t imagine you not being by my side continually.

When I’m feeling low, you realise, and mess around to make me laugh and cheer me up. If I get too over-exuberant after good news, you give me that look to keep my feet on the ground. It’s as though you know how to look after me better than I do myself.

There’s always cuddles throughout the day. Seeing you laugh when I playfully tickle your tummy is contagious. It gives me as much pleasure seeing you happy as it seems to give you.

You even like my cooking. Watching you devouring spaghetti bolognese, lasagne, roast chicken, or even the pizza crusts I leave on my plate makes time spent in the kitchen worthwhile. it’s so much better than giving you something lazy out of a bag.

Our excursions to the beach are the highlight of my day. It helps me escape from the interminable hours in front of a computer screen writing stories I can only hope people read. Your crazy rush to the sea so you can get your feet wet paddling in the shallow water, whatever the weather, always brings a smile to my face. Covering me in wet sand when you come out, less so, but I forgive you. It’s about the only thing you do that isn’t perfect. We walk along the beach with you not caring about anything around you. It’s your world and nobody is going to take it away from you. It brings a sense of calm, as it helps me remember that it doesn’t matter what others think. Living life the way we choose is far more important.

Some days you go to the beach before me. I watch from a distance as you play with your friends, running around the sand and splashing in the sea. When you spot me, you sprint across the sand towards me. You love playing with your friends, but never let me forget how important I am. I’m never alone, because you’ll never let that happen.

Our long walks across the hills to the shops are even better. I still can’t believe you walk beside me all the way, regardless of the weather, the occasional flock of sheep, or even an aggressive stray dog. It turns shopping into an adventure when I always have a companion. I never fail to sneak a few treats into the trolley for you to make sure you know I love you.

Even bedtime is an adventure as you take one last stroll around the garden before curling up in your nice, warm bed, always giving me a brief smile before closing your eyes and drifting into a world of dreams. Watching those last moments gives me hope tomorrow will always be a good day.

I can’t marry you, but you are my constant companion with a bond far stronger than any ring or piece of paper can show. There is something special about a man and his stray dog. I love you, Tinker!

Tinker, the dog in question


Author Bio – Maximilian Sam

Maximilian Sam is the award-winning author of It’s A Stray Dog’s LifeIt’s A Stray Dog’s Life 2, and Stories From A Stray. He is also the creator of the Stray Army brand of merchandise. He’s a confirmed stray, having lived in 10 countries around the world ranging from the UK to Indonesia and a few in between. He currently lives on the west coast of Turkey surrounded by his stray dogs and cats. Max has never been married, so can lay claim to being something of an expert in not marriage material. You can find out more about Max, the stray animals, the Stray Army brand, and plenty of PR and marketing advice by visiting his website at www.maximiliansam.com.

2 thoughts on “‘Not Marriage Material’ – Submission 10: Always By My Side by Maximilian Sam

Leave a comment